In the world … not of it!

Let my cry come right into your presence, God;
    provide me with the insight that comes only from your Word.
Give my request your personal attention,
    rescue me on the terms of your promise.
Let praise cascade off my lips;
    after all, you’ve taught me the truth about life!
And let your promises ring from my tongue;
    every order you’ve given is right.
Put your hand out and steady me
    since I’ve chosen to live by your counsel.
I’m homesick, God, for your salvation;
    I love it when you show yourself!
Invigorate my soul so I can praise you well,
    use your decrees to put iron in my soul.
And should I wander off like a lost sheep—seek me!
    I’ll recognize the sound of your voice. Ps. 119:169-176

I have to be transparent today, gentlemen! I typically don’t watch the news … even before all of the recent events of Covid and the riots. But, lately, I intentionally avoid it refusing to go to my normal news sites. With that said, I did see some news and was reminded why I have not watched it. I work with law enforcement officers/agents from all over the country and world. I saw some footage recently, in Portland I think, where officers were surrounded and physically attacked with bricks, Molotov cocktails, laser pointers and other items. They were beaten and assaulted in numerous ways. I can’t, for the life of me, come up with an understanding of one human doing this to another nor can I fathom a city allowing their officers to be treated this way. To be honest, I am finding it very hard to feel compassion for the rioters who end up hurt or worse and I recently made the statement that I will not allow myself to be at the receiving end of a butt whooping like was displayed in the news. I wish I could say this was one of those moments of “holy indignation” that comes from a heart of compassion, but it’s not! This just really … ummm … makes me mad!

The scripture noted above was a help to me in that it directs my prayers to receive from GOD what I need to understand this (not “my own understanding”) and for His deliverance. When I turn my lips to praise and my tongue to singing of His word, I will long for His salvation and not act like a lost sheep (as these rioters clearly are)! But, even if I do stray, seek me Lord and I will recognize your voice! How utterly awesome is our God! I pray, Father, for the grace I need in these times and that I would recognize the grace You have always shown me even before I knew you!

Leave a Reply