I’m Too Weak

I am not a big NCAA basketball fan until March Madness.  It gives the small, less reputable teams a shot at the big, high profile programs.  You never know what is going to happen and who is going to win.  This past weekend did not disappoint.  Oral Roberts University pulled off a huge upset when they beat the #2 seed Ohio State, who won the Big 10 Tournament, 75-72.  Then, they followed up yesterday to beat University of FL.  Go Golden Eagles!  Our very own North Texas pulled another huge defeat when they beat Purdue of the Big 10.  Who would have thought a little private school in West Texas, Abilene Christian University, could beat gigantic University of Texas 53-52, but they did!  With 1.2 seconds left, 58.8% free throw shooter (the worst on the team), Joe Pleasant, with the pressure of millions watching stepped to the line like he had no care in the world and knocked down two free throws.  City school, Loyola Chicago, beat another favorite to win the NCAA Championship, University of Illinois, 71-58.  Allow me to reiterate.  I love March Madness.

The above is a great lesson for Christ-Followers.  We limit ourselves to our fleshly ability without engaging the power of God, the Holy Spirit, living within us.  Here’s is what God’s Word says in Galatians 2:20, I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.”  It’s not me but “Christ living in me”. 

David lined-up on the battlefield with Goliath, the great Philistine warrior, who stood in stature close to 9 feet.  Not only did he step out on the combat zone, but he walked out with confidence.  Notice the engagement between the two as the battle ensued, The Philistine also said to David, “Come to me, and I will give your flesh to the birds of the sky and the wild animals.”   This gigantic man of steel took the initiative fully convinced that he would intimidate this man with his powerful, deep voice.  Man, did he underestimate his opponent. 45 But David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword, a spear, and a saber, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of armies, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the Lord will hand you over to me, and I will strike you and remove your head from you. Then I will give the dead bodies of the army of the Philistines this day to the birds of the sky and the wild animals of the earth, so that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel, 47 and that this entire assembly may know that the Lord does not save by sword or by spear; for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will hand you over to us!”  We all know the conclusion.  With a slingshot and a smooth rock with expert technique, he buried the stone in the forehead of Goliath knocking the giant dead.  Liked David, learn to live in courage and trust God to work thru you.

You may be thinking that there is no way that I can live empowered like this.  “I’m too weak.”  2 Corinthian 12:9 will become your life verse, And Jesus has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.”  Trust God and watch Him work in and through you.

One thought on “I’m Too Weak”

  1. God is continually in the business of “bracket-busting” – our thoughts, dreams, plans, no matter how meticulously laid out, are ultimately subject to His sovereignty.

    Like

Leave a Reply